dustrial Hygiene provides a consulting service on matters pertaining to industrial health; (13) Air Ambulance Service provides emergency service at a nominal charge of \$25 per flight.

The Province is divided into 13 health regions, five of which have been established. The Cancer Commission of the Department of Public Health has established consultative, diagnostic, surgery and treatment clinics at Regina and Saskatoon. Radon is manufactured at a plant in Saskatoon. Free treatment for cases of poliomyelitis is available at Saskatoon and Regina. Free diagnostic and treatment services are available for tubercular patients in three sanatoria and a number of clinics operated by the Saskatchewan Anti-Tuberculosis League. Annual surveys are carried out throughout the Province.

The Health Services Planning Commission supervises all hospital planning and administration, and all approved hospitals and nursery homes. It acts as an advisory and consultative body to local regions, municipalities, local improvement districts, mutual benefit and hospital associations, and Union hospitals and is responsible for the administration of medical care grants; it assesses hospital facilities and advises on needed hospital expansion. It must approve by-laws and contracts for all types of municipal health schemes. It administers the Saskatchewan Hospital Services Plan which provides for hospital care for every resident of the Province. The Medical Services Division of the Health Services Planning Commission supervises payment of grants to physicians, dentists and approved hospitals for services to needy residents of the Province outside municipal jurisdiction; insulin is supplied free to diabetics who are unable to purchase it; medical, hospital and drug services are provided to old age and blind pensioners and their dependents, and to recipients of mothers' allowances and their children.

Alberta.—The Department of Public Health administers all public-health matters in the Province and includes the following Divisions: Communicable Diseases; Sanitary Engineering and Sanitation; Public Health Education; Public Health Entomology; Laboratory; Tuberculosis Control; Public Health Nursing; Municipal Hospitals; Hospital and Medical Services; Social Hygiene; Vital Statistics; Mental Hygiene; Cancer; and Nutrition Services.

The following institutions are administered by the Department: Central Alberta Sanatorium; the Provincial Mental Hospital, Ponoka; the Provincial Training School, Red Deer; the Provincial Auxiliary Hospital, Claresholm; the Provincial Auxiliary Hospital, Raymond; the Provincial Mental Institute, Edmonton; Rosehaven Home, Camrose.

Free clinics for venereal disease are maintained at the following centres: Edmonton, Calgary, Medicine Hat, Lethbridge, Peace River, High Prairie, McLennan, and in the two provincial gaols. Arsenicals, penicillin and sulpha drugs are provided free of charge to all private physicians treating venereal disease. Educational work on social hygiene is carried on by means of lectures, moving pictures, bulletins and radio talks.

Free treatment for pulmonary tuberculosis is provided for any person who has resided in the Province for at least one year immediately preceding admission for treatment in the sanatorium. In addition to this service, two mobile X-ray clinics are in operation; the personnel is supplied and the clinics are maintained by the Provincial Department of Public Health while the equipment is furnished by the Alberta Tuberculosis Association.